signature moves.

You can tell a lot about a person by their handwriting. Seriously! This isn’t just a musing of mine, it’s an actual thing. It’s called graphology.

graph·ol·o·gy/graˈfäləjē/

Noun:
  1. The study of handwriting, for example as used to infer a person’s character.
  2. The study of written and printed symbols and of writing systems.

I can’t even begin to describe my fascination with handwriting. I was super curious to see CB’s for the first time. He’s a left-handed writer (artistic!) and what I saw was all in capital letters which intrigued me. I used to watch my father write notes for work at the dining table and was captivated by his tiny, perfectly neat lettering. In fact, it’s actually an ‘argument’ my mum and dad have often about who has the better scrawl… it’s Dad in my opinion, but don’t tell Mum! People stand in line for hours just to have some celebrity scribble their name on something for us; I paid $40 for Michael Shanks’ autograph last year. I became paranoid about my own signature and spent time practising it to ensure it was ‘unforge-able’! I remember getting in trouble from my teacher for writing the letter ‘a’ a certain way in grade 5 and for putting love hearts over the letter ‘i’. Yep. Words are important to me and I would much rather read them when they are printed beautifully than if they are jotted down illegibly.

So just for fun, I thought I’d try to interpret what my handwriting says about me. Here’s what the internet tells me…

First of all, here’s the webpage I used for my analysis. Let me clarify though, this is an actual profession so a lot of it went right over my head. The things that were easier to pick up on include:

  • Size of my writing. There are only two options here, small or large. My writing is large which apparently means I have a desire to be noticed and get distracted by attention.
  • Baseline direction. My writing is always as horizontally straight as humanly possible. I prefer to write with lined paper actually if available. This foretells that I am unchanging in my opinions.
  • Line spacing. Again, there are two options – large distance between lines or intermingling lines. I obviously have a large space between each line above which means I have clarity of thought. Hmm, that doesn’t really sound like me. I definitely don’t have clarity of thought but I do try my best to keep order and dodge conflict where possible.
  • Connection of capital letters to next letter. When possible I do this (as you can see in my name) which translates as a smooth transition of inner values to others and surroundings.
  • If you check out my ‘b’ and ‘l’ you’ll see that I start my initial stroke through the baseline indicating I am alert of being taken advantage of and have the inability to forgive and forget. Interesting… and certainly rings true.

There’s definitely more to this but these were some of the more interesting points I felt. My handwriting has changed dramatically over the years and I think that if I went back and examined more thoroughly it has definitely evolved as I have grown and experienced ‘life’. As a side note, I don’t care what anyone says, the love heart over the ‘i’ in my name stays.

Leave a comment