the homes of my happiness.

I am going through a week of reflection, taking a minute or two here and there to close my eyes and think about the people, places and things that make me happiest. As someone who can get overwhelmed with anxiety at times it has been a really lovely form of calming meditation for me. Having spent Tuesday walking around my workplace with a dumb grin on my face while reflecting on my favourite time of day, I’m spending Thursday thinking about some of my favourite places. Everyone needs their ‘happy place’, somewhere they can escape to if they need to clear their head – here are mine and I won’t be at all upset if you ever need to borrow any of them. Except, number 2… only my siblings can borrow that one.

The Beach.

There’s something special about the warmth of the sun, the glittering grains of sand, the endless horizons and crystal blue water of the beach that makes it the most relaxing place on earth for me. The thunderous break of the waves drowns out the constant nagging of everyday worries as I sit on the shore comforted by the embrace of the suns rays. Marie and I are very fond of our little neck of the woods in South East Queensland and if you’re ever in town then make sure you take a trip to the gorgeous coast.

beach <3

Mum & Dads.

My Dad says that my Mum can make anywhere feel cosy and make anyone feel at home. He is spot on. Going back to Mum & Dads is unbeatable. I adore my family and gathering together with them all for a simple barbeque while the footy is on is one of my favourite things to do.

The Airport.

While there may be some love lost between myself and the actual process of being on an aeroplane, I can say that my love affair with the airport stands strong. Hugh Grant opens one of my favourite films, Love Actually with the following quote and I couldn’t agree more:

Whenever I get gloomy with the state of the world, I think about the arrivals gate at Heathrow Airport. General opinion’s starting to make out that we live in a world of hatred and greed, but I don’t see that. It seems to me that love is everywhere. Often, it’s not particularly dignified or newsworthy, but it’s always there – fathers and sons, mothers and daughters, husbands and wives, boyfriends, girlfriends, old friends. When the planes hit the Twin Towers, as far as I know, none of the phone calls from the people on board were messages of hate or revenge – they were all messages of love. If you look for it, I’ve got a sneaky feeling you’ll find that love actually is all around.

My Writing Space.

Thinking about this gorgeous piece of furniture is actually what sparked the rest of my thoughts about places that make me happy. I know this is technically a ‘thing’ but it is to become a ‘space’ for me to write in and will hopefully soon be a happy place for me. This dresser turned desk is my Great Grandmothers so it has a lot of special meaning for me while also being a beautiful piece of antique furniture. Have I mentioned how in love with it I am?

I plan to always have fresh flowers in a crystal vase next to photos of my loved ones on it. I flipped the mirror around revealing this gorgeous, unfinished wood and plan to hang twine from each mirror pillar using wooden pegs to hang things from it… as a sort of inspiration board.

Great Grandma Jessie's dresser.

I hope that everyone has a place they can ‘run away’ to when a bit of head space is needed. These places saved me from ever needing to join the circus… which is a wonderful thing because patrons would definitely have demanded their money back from the acrobat who can’t even cartwheel.

2 thoughts on “the homes of my happiness.

  1. Pingback: a pictures worth. | frannie loves marie.

Leave a Reply

