long time no post.

Hello World!

It sure has been a while. I got a ‘Happy Anniversary’ notification from the good people at WordPress to say Frannie Loves Marie has been up and running for over a year now. This was enough to make me realise that we’ve been a bit M.I.A. from the writing scene lately, but that certainly doesn’t mean we’ve abandoned all posts forever. I think we just needed some time away from the computer… we do spend our Monday to Friday in front of them after all. We’re back now though and have many stories ready to be told, shedding some light on what we’ve been up to this last month.

For today, in honour of this blog that I treasure so dearly, I thought I would recap on some of my most memorable posts over the past year.

The first being perfect portrayals. This entry was freshly pressed a couple of days after being posted and it recently came to my mind when I re-watched My Week With Marilyn. It reminds me of all the wonderfully artistic storytellers we have in this world and the idea that there are so many stories yet to be told excites me greatly.

A post that never fails to put a smile on my face is Marie’s my friends are better dancers than yours. Marie got married in September 2012 and it is impossible for me to pick a favourite wedding related post, so I went for the one that so perfectly summarised the joy and love of her very special day.

There’s something very special about a first date, first kiss, first love… and I feel this fondness when I remember our very first post, our quest to find the best cupcake in Brisbane. It could not have been a more fun, girly and tasty adventure to go on with my dear friend and posting our very first Frannie Loves Marie entry was the beginning of an even greater blog-style adventure.

Marie wrote a post last year called A letter to 13-year-old Frannie and Marie that I quite simply adore. It makes me laugh and cry and reminds me of the brilliance of being a girl and a sister. Speaking of brilliance and girl-power, Marie also wrote a post last year called I’m not a princess, I’m a pirate. This is such a perfect musing that I can’t wait to show to my daughter one day.

Our one year WordPress anniversary isn’t the only celebration I’ve enjoyed lately. I also reached one whole amazing year with CB, who is often the topic of my posts. Cainotophobia: fear of change was my announcement that I was moving interstate to be with him. It is the scariest yet most rewarding decision I have ever made and this post reminds me of those nervous butterflies and the satisfaction I felt when it became the greatest life choice I have made thus far.

Finally, last year I lost someone very dear to me. It is by far the hardest thing I have ever had to go through and I still feel that loss every single day. I wrote my very first poem not long after this happened called I swam in the ocean today and it was for my beloved Nan, who I love and miss and think about every day.

Writing is my favourite past-time and my way of making sense of things. Even though we took a slight hiatus from posting, there will always be more stories about our sometimes strange and often wonderful lives that we look forward to sharing with you in the future.

friends 4eva.

2 thoughts on “long time no post.

Leave a Reply

