less is more.

When I was first old enough to start spending money on myself (after landing my first job and a completely dispensable income), boy did I spend! I bought clothes, shoes, bags, jewellery and most importantly, products. Creams, gels, powders and sprays. Things I could use on my hair, nails and skin with apparently miracle results. If I believed all the claims on these innumerable boxes and jars, I should be thinner, browner, clearer, shinier and newer by now.

For some reason I seemed to follow the belief that the more expensive a product was, the better it would work. If I tallied up the amount of money I have spent on products over the past eight years, I fear it would make me vomit. The funny thing is, the majority of expensive bottles I bought would result in my skin breaking out. Bad. And a recent trip to the dermatologist confirmed this point when she told me, under no uncertain terms, my skin is sensitive with a capital S. So when it comes to skincare, less is definitely more.

I don’t want to perpetuate the beauty industry myth that we need all one million and one products they are trying to spruik, so I thought I would write a little post about one product I’ve recently fallen for. It may not have turned me into a supermodel overnight, but it has made a noticeable difference to my complexion and on the plus side, is cheap and easily accessible. Coconut oil. I only tried this delectable oil after I brought some home from our honeymoon and in less than a month, I already know I’m a convert for life.

So far I have used coconut oil as the following: hair treatment, makeup remover, face and body moisturizer and cuticle oil. I have also heard it’s good as an oral supplement, cooking oil, teeth whitener and as a topical treatment for bruises and scars. Since I started using it, the biggest difference I have noticed is in my complexion. Under my eyes doesn’t look so dark, my freckles have faded and everything seems more ‘dewy’ – yes I did steal that word from some ridiculous beauty product ad, but I still think it applies.

One thought on “less is more.

Leave a Reply

