to tattoo or not to?

It’s no secret to my family and friends and certainly not to anyone who reads FLM, that I am extremely sappy. I cry every time I watch The Notebook and Titanic. Puppies give me butterflies. Weddings (even of strangers) bring a tear to my eye. Laughing with my friends saves my life, my boyfriend’s smile makes my heart sing and my family are my best friends.

At 21, when I thought I was mature enough, I decided to get a tattoo in the name of my wonderful parents. It’s on my right hip and is a Shakespeare quote from Sonnet 116 that I explained here.

“The star to every wandering bark.”

Basically, it reminds me when I feel down and out, that things always get better and help is always close by. My family taught me that.

At 23, I got a second tattoo. It’s a shell design I got done for my Nan. When I was younger, we used to collect shells together at the beach, one of my many treasured memories of time spent with my grandparents. I’ve always been so proud to have the middle name Frances, after my Pa Frank, and I wanted my Nan to have some representation too.

For some, like me, the decision to get a tattoo is a big one and takes serious consideration. For others, not so much. My theory was that I was 100% excited at the idea so why not just do it? My Dad’s theory was, don’t-even-think-about-it-not-on-your-nelly! Although Dad’s potential and probably negative reaction did make it to the top of the ‘cons’ list, I decided to go ahead with it. He jokes that I’m one to ask for forgiveness, not permission… this time around at least I gave him fair warning.

So 3 years on from the first and a year on from the second, do I have any regrets? Nope. I admit I might make tiny changes to them if I could do it over, but my intention was that I would smile whenever I look at them. And I do. Sometimes people read my Shakespeare quote and ask if it’s a ‘dog lovers thing’ (which I don’t mind, because as mentioned earlier I do loveee dogs)…

…and others see the shell on my foot and ask if I’m some sort of chocoholic. Again, I don’t so much mind this because it is also a well-known truth.

But their true meaning is known to me and all that matters is that I’m happy and comfortable in my own skin. Skin I prettied up a little with some extra decoration!

2 thoughts on “to tattoo or not to?

Leave a Reply

