dream jobs.

I don’t usually talk about my job here (for fear of boring people and/or myself into a stupor) but this week I’m writing an article on a really interesting local guy – Paul Seymour, who is on a mission to work one job a week for a year. He is doing this to raise money for the Big Brothers, Big Sisters charity and also to get a better idea of what he wants to do with his life. Like speed dating, but with jobs instead of potential life partners. I have a lot of respect for the guy – it takes courage to walk out of a comfortable job and make a change like this and I don’t think many people could do it.

Paul has tried his hand at being a high school teacher; toy and games demonstrator; picker and packer; Richmond Tigers Football Club staff member; hairdresser; event planner; farmer; tour guide; sign writer; youth worker and journalist, to name a few.

It did get me thinking about what jobs other than journalism I would try if I had the chance. Don’t get me wrong, I’m pretty happy with my choice – I grew up wanting to be a writer and this is a way to do it while still getting paid. But there are so many diverse opportunities out there – a thought that fills my mind with ‘what ifs’ and ‘maybes’. I mean, it’s totally plausible that I could one day be a stunt car driver, right?

At different stages of my childhood I wanted to be a teacher, a vet, an actor, a dancer, a chef, a costume designer and a flight attendant. The only one of those I could actually see myself doing in the future is teaching, but I still think it’s important not to get stuck in the mindset of ‘I will be doing this for the rest of my life’. That can get depressing pretty quickly. Depending on what report you read, apparently Gen Y’ers will work 4, 12 or even 29 different jobs in their lifetime. That’s a lot of jumping around – we better get started y’all. But in all seriousness, do you have another career or 5 lined up? What would you do if you had the chance?

Leave a Reply

