weekend antics.

I know it’s Wednesday now and the weekend just past is a distant memory, but I’d like to recap on the wonderful two-day break I had. On Friday my dear friend Katie came over to bake some cupcakes for her impending Mario Kart-themed party. You definitely should go and check out her photos, it was a ridiculously great theme for a birthday and I’m sad I missed out (more on that a bit later).

Then I made my way to the airport TO PICK UP FRANNIE!!!! Hooray! We’ve officially been living in separate states for a month and it was our first time catching up. My dear friend had come up to help me with some wedding tasks and the time sped by far too quickly. We had a month of chatting to catch up on and I think it was after 2am when we finally went to sleep. Bliss.

Unfortunately, last week I’d had some heartbreaking news that my dear cousin Ciara had passed away. She was a year older than me and we spent a lot of our childhood attached at the hip – obsessed with puppies in your pocket, horror stories and giving our Barbies terrible haircuts. I traveled to Toowoomba with my brother for the funeral and absolutely loved that her sisters requested we all dress in bright colors rather than black. The service was beautiful and there were some fantastic stories shared.

Attending the funeral of someone close always makes me stop and reassess – it reiterates how lucky I am to have so many loving relationships in my life and reminds me to make the most of life while I’ve got it. It was definitely odd to go from that emotional moment back to wedding planning, but I guess it’s all part of the deal.

Here’s a photo of Frannie and Mia to cheer us all up.

Sunday was D-Day – absolute wedding planning chaos. While a certain Melbournite slept in until a leisurely 10am (so jealous – lucky girl), I was consumed by wedding thoughts, lists, worst-case scenarios and deadlines and unfortunately only managed about four hours sleep. I have a feeling this kind of stress is going to reappear in the next four weeks as the big day looms ever-closer.

A breakfast at Fig Tree Deli fueled us for the craziness that followed. Frannie had baked eggs and I had muesli with fruit. Both were fantastic, as was the coffee.

Collect vintage salt and pepper shakers as favors, I said. It’ll be quirky and cute and so easy, I said. Hmm. I need 100 sets in total and so we unpacked all the little Ebay boxes with 10 sets here, 20 sets there and found I have 91 sets. So close! We assigned a set to each guest that’s coming and there was some serious conversation about which ones to give everyone. I hope we did a good job, or at least hope we’ll make some people laugh with the really hideous ones.

Then we packed a box full of stuff destined for the wedding venue – guest book, cake topper, glass bottles, doilies, polaroid camera, pine cones… all the usual stuff. This might not sound like we did much, but we spent about 5 hours on wedding duty so we rewarded ourselves with dinner and a glass (or 2) of wine. Then I had to say goodbye to my dear girl and prepare myself for the week ahead.

3 thoughts on “weekend antics.

  1. So much to say!! Firstly, everyone, I zoomed right in on that first cute photo of us and what looks like food on my face is actually just a fleck of light. Phew 😉

    Also, 10am sleep-ins, coffees the size of my head, cuddles with Mia, wedding stuff and Marie time… BEST! Best, best, best. See you in just over a week my dear!!! x

Leave a Reply

