things don’t always turn out the way we plan.

This was not what I had intended to post today. Instead of sharing my riveting musings on eye brows (you know you want to stay tuned for that tomorrow!), today I am beyond happy to report that I have in my possession a copy of The Glass Menagerie to call my own. The search has been called off!

You might be wondering why this post is called ‘things don’t always turn out the way we plan’ if I’m now sitting here, grinning from ear to ear while holding my pre-loved book… exactly the way I planned. It is the way this item came to be in my life that was unexpected – I arrived home from work after a typical Monday, craving chocolate and mind numbing trash tv as an escape from a 9-5 reality. Walking through the front door, there was an envelope on the kitchen bench that had arrived for CB. Thinking it was another one of his football dvds I thought it’d be pretty funny to pretend to take it away from him. He didn’t put up a fight though, just told me that I could open it for him if I wanted. I ripped open the envelope to find inside the exact version of TGM by Tennessee Williams that I had been searching for. I mentioned that I wanted to find this book (or rather have it find me) in an antique store or at a book fair of some kind. However, having someone understand how much it means to me, enough to search for it on my behalf and have it sent my way, well now, that’s much, much better. Sometimes, the way events unfold in our imagination doesn’t translate to reality. My advice is to just go with it because it may turn out even better than you expected. Happy Tuesday everyone!

Leave a Reply

