back in action.

You may have noticed the beautiful marie posting solo lately and while she’s been spending this last week being her clever and creative self, I’ve been lying around sick with the flu. Yuck! And when I get the flu, boy do I get sooky!

As everyone in the Southern hemisphere starts to look towards the Spring time, I thought I would take this opportunity to share a couple of things that might help to get you through the rest of the flu season and those chilly final weeks leading in to September.

Please refer to the above care pack lovingly put together by my boyfriend upon hearing the first sign of my sniffles. The gesture was sincerely sweet but I’m forced to question why the things that are good for us taste so bad? Paw paw ointment is amazing (as mentioned in what presents to bring an Aussie abroad.) for chapped winter lips and it is a firm belief of mine that every guy and gal should have some on them at all times. The orange tic tac tasting vitamin c tablets weren’t so bad either and I can handle sitting down to a mug of lemsip or lemon and honey but I put up quite a fight when CB told me to take my olive leaf and Robitussin. Even Strepsils, as soothing as they are, aren’t disguised with any deliciousness or sweetness. However, if you want to kick a cold to the curb, then coupled with rest, this little concoction really does work. I hadn’t even heard of olive leaf until recently and I promise my normal cold recovery time was cut down by days!

The BEST winter warmer of all though, is a good pot of soup. Here’s the recipe for my favourite, leek and potato, and a picture of me cooking it, looking ever so happy to be in the kitchen. Just quietly, check out that massive bowl of oranges! It’s pretty obvious someone in this house needed some vitamin c of late.

Leek & potato soup. This recipe was passed on to me by a beautiful woman I used to work with. She was always taking care of others and would cook this soup in bulk in winter for all of the office to enjoy in – it’s a true ‘made with love’ meal.

Ingredients:

  • 5 large potatoes
  • 2 brown onions
  • 2 large leeks
  • 1 litre of vegetable stock
  • 250ml of thickened pouring/cooking cream
  • Salt & pepper
  • Butter
  1. Roughly chop the potatoes, onions and leeks in to small chunks about 2x2cm if you need specifics like I do.
  2. Put a large tablespoon of butter and some salt and pepper to taste in a large pot, adding the chopped vegetables and sautéing until the butter is melted and the vegetables have had some time to caramelise slightly. (Roughly 5 minutes).
  3. Cover the vegetables in veggie stock and boil until potatoes are soft.
  4. Leave to cool for at least half an hour (or if in a rush, transfer to another pot than can be put in the fridge).
  5. Blend the ingredients (but make sure they’ve cooled!) until a soup consistency is formed. You will need to blend in small amounts as this all won’t fit in the blender at once. Try to ensure each time you’re blending that there’s a pretty equal liquid to veggie ratio.
  6. Reheat the blended soup and gradually stir in the cream, constantly taste testing until it is as creamy as you would like.
  7. Serve with crusty bread rolls.

Okay so I’m no Jamie Oliver and forgive me if the recipe/instructions aren’t very detailed but I manage to make a pretty good soup with that direction and if I can do it then so can you.

Leave a Reply

