cainotophobia: fear of change.

I’m not really sure where to begin with this post. I considered an offbeat little segue by introducing the topic through my fascination with Billy Bob Thornton and his phobia of antique furniture. Then I thought I’d approach it by explaining some events throughout the timeline of my life that have led me to fear certain things. Honestly though, I think at some stage we all experience the anxiety associated with changes and it probably isn’t really something I need to explain.

My thoughts have sprung from recent occurrences in my life that have sparked some pretty big changes. A planner and avid listmaker, I’m the first to admit that I normally play it safe and have at times been secretly relieved if good opportunities didn’t come to fruition so I could avoid the ripple effect of change when they were too good to pass up. That is until recently…

This Saturday, I am moving to Melbourne.

As far as firsts go, 1998 was the first time I shifted my life interstate (Sydney to Brisbane) and as a 10 year old I certainly wasn’t happy with the changes being thrust upon me. It actually took years before I completely forgave my parents and it wasn’t until I became an ‘adult’ (and I use the term loosely) that I understood why they made their decision to call Queensland home.

My first visit to Melbourne with my beautiful friend Junebug didn’t go so well either. In fact, I remember coming home and writing a recount of our time that has now become the funny memories of the best-worst-girls-weekend ever! So I find it ironic that I am beyond excited to make an interstate move again to the city I thought would remain an enemy for life. Melbourne, if you’re reading this, please don’t take that the wrong way. I have since grown to like you. Maybe even love you a little bit.

As I’ve mentioned before, 2012 has been an amazing year so far, choosing to focus my energies on time with the Suthos and my girlfriends all the while falling in love with a boy from Melbourne. The resulting happiness has made it easy to embrace the adventures that await me. Maybe it isn’t change that I fear, rather failing in my new endeavours? With the encouragement and safety net of family and friends and knowing CB will be waiting for me at the airport when I arrive it is pretty much impossible to be scared.

Okay I lied… I am a little scared about the cold.

I have big plans for my time as a Victorian including shopping, visits to the theatre, day trips out of the CBD and pretending I’m Matt Preston at every restaurant I dine in. I know this time will be remembered fondly in years to come – teaching me that change can be positive.

Stay tuned for posts from Melbourne. First up, my review of Moonshadow which I finally get to see on my first night there!

4 thoughts on “cainotophobia: fear of change.

  1. You are THE cutest thing in the world. This blog made me want to have this kind of change and im petrified of change. I’m so excited for you. You will have an amazing experience – just make sure you come home to me!! Xoxo

  2. You have such an interesting blog dear!!
    following you now on Bloglovin! Like to follow back?
    we could stay in contact! I hope so…!
    kisses dear!!
    Self-dressed.blogspot.com

  3. Pingback: long time no post. | frannie loves marie.

Leave a Reply

