last sunday i was reminded that life is good.

I am not the eternal optimist although I try my best to be and I am easily panicked in stressful situations. Two days ago I had to begin work late on a Sunday morning in South Brisbane. I left home with plenty of time to arrive and organise myself before the event I was working at began. Then, I hit the edge of the city and my heart began to flutter anxiously at the lineup of cars trying to turn down Grey St in to Southbank. Another event at a park close by had filled the car parks and attracted hundreds more patrons than usual to an already popular area. I lapped the building I was supposed to have entered the doors of 10 minutes ago… half an hour ago… 1 hour ago…. until eventually after 1 hour and 25 minutes I found a park. I was cranky, hungry and on the brink of suffering a panic attack. I had been sitting in a car for 2 whole hours, had to work on a Sunday and would miss the Manly game that afternoon. In that frame of mind, life didn’t get much worse.

Then I walked into the events office. Everyone greeted me with the biggest smiles and water-off-a-duck’s-back attitudes about the traffic situation that had me so on edge. After a few triangles of sandwich and a few more grins flashed my way, I was already beginning to feel better.

Then it hit me! I work for a sporting organisation and in my flustered state I had forgotten that I had been waiting for this day for months! It was game day and a young man had organised with the events team to propose to his girlfriend centre stage at half time. My heart began to flutter again, only this time excitedly. My mood lifted immediately.

While I have just admitted I may not be the optimist at every occasion I certainly believe in the magic of love and ever since watching The Block finale last year when contestant Josh proposed to his long-term partner Jenna, I have had ‘witness a public proposal’ on my life’s to do list. In the minute that this young man was on stage explaining to a crowd of thousands that he had met the love of his life and had decided he never wanted to be without her, I remembered how good life could be and in particular how kind 2012 has been to me so far and how content and happy I am with my life at present.

My wide-eyed, Ewan McGregor as Christian in Moulin Rouge type belief in love has remained successfully unjaded. I am so thankful for the love of these two strangers on this particular Sunday that reminded me how fortunate I am and just how surprising and wonderful life can be. I may be a romantic fool but if a little bit of love, something so universal and abundant is what it takes to put my not-so-bad-bad-days into perspective, then a fool I hope to always remain.

Love? Above all things I believe in love. Love is like oxygen. Love is a many-splendored thing, love lifts us up where we belong, all you need is love!

One thought on “last sunday i was reminded that life is good.

  1. Pingback: listen carefully. | frannie loves marie.

Leave a Reply

