superstition ain’t the way.

State of Origin: Game 2 was played last Wednesday night and as promised in my Game 1 post, the Blues did end up sweetly victorious. Also as promised in my last post, I won’t bore you with my minute by minute run down of all the glorious events leading up to our win. Instead, I thought I’d share some thoughts that were rapidly running through my brain yesterday surrounding superstition. You see, every year for the past, let’s say 8 or so Origin series, I have superstitiously baked unappetising looking blue cakes or cupcakes to be eaten at half time. Having lost the last 6 series, it’s pretty safe to say it doesn’t always work in my favour but the fact that it did work ‘that one time’ has made it a permanent part of my game day preparation and my valuable contribution to the overall performance of the New South Wales team. In my mind at least.

The ridiculous notion of mine that some 24 year old girl in Queensland baking a disgusting looking blue cake can make a football team win a game of rugby league really interested me. I know people who are not by any stretch of the imagination superstitious but I’m also aware that many of us certainly get that uneasy feeling when the number 13 pops up or we see a black cat walking away or if we break a mirror. There are also those superstitions rumoured to bring us luck – finding a four leafed clover or hanging a horseshoe at your doorway.

So when did superstitions come to be and how much homage should we pay them?

My quick studies on the subject tell me that superstition stems from religious beliefs throughout history and supernatural acts that were so widely practised and feared. The idea that repetitious acts, offering up something (a sacrifice) or that the presence of a certain animal (a totem or symbol) has one universal connotation for all, is something that was instigated and reinforced by the religious leaders and witches/warlocks of that time to provoke certain reactions in the community. Mainly fear. Their meanings have since snowballed and carried over to modern times. Ahh the things a quick google search over lunch can teach us!

So then I tried to think of all the little things I believe in or do other than silly cake baking rituals. I guess along with the obsessive nature of list making there are definitely things I am superstitious about. Last night I painted my nails and when finishing the second coat on the final nail my heart skipped a little beat when I noticed the shade was Revlon’s sheer innocence… NUMBER 13! I don’t like to step on cracks in tiles or cement paths (don’t step on a crack, or you’ll fall and break your back) and I definitely knock on wood. Having studied a bit of acting at University, I’m also well aware that an actor never, ever utters the word ‘Macbeth’ while in a theatre, unless of course you actually do want to ‘break a leg’. It’s the ultimate bad juju.

It would appear that I’m a bit of a sucker when it comes to superstitions. Just an interesting thought for the day I guess. Apologies if after reading this you have Stevie Wonder’s Superstition in your head for the rest of the afternoon. I’ve had it in mine since Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

