my top 3 guilty pleasures.

There are things we openly enjoy without regret (like pink & Disney movies & Elvis) and then there are the things we indulge in while ignoring the angel on our shoulder who thinks that we maybe shouldn’t enjoy said item/action/moment too much. They are the little things that bring me joy when I need it most, when I’m alone or when I don’t have the funds for some much needed retail therapy. Sometimes, I mention these pick-me-ups to others and I’m either met with the raised eyebrow of a non-believer or with the glinting eyes of someone who knows exactly where I’m coming from. At the risk of furrowing any more brows, I am going to share with you my three favourite, innocent-yet-guilty pleasures.

1. favourite edible pleasure…

Those of you who know me know I’m a ‘foodie’. Perhaps (definitely) not a whiz in the kitchen, I do like to think that I know excellent food when I see it… and then five seconds later devour it. The foods that really tickle my tastebuds would definitely be labelled as ‘sometimes foods’ and unfortunately, like the cookie monster to cookies, this has always been a hard concept for me to grasp.

So when I really want to treat myself, nothing can keep me away from a Reese’s peanut butter cup! Or equally as good, Baskin Robbins peanut butter and chocolate ice cream. Yum! As perfect a pairing as Angelina and Brad, if you are yet to experience the combination of peanut butter and chocolate in any of its delicious forms then I strongly suggest the next time you are looking for a treat to satisfy your sweet tooth, you jump in the car and head to your local Baskins or sweet shop for some peanut butter and chocolatey goodness!

2. favourite free pleasure

Now that we’re in the car on our way to Baskin Robbins, it’s time to indulge in my second favourite guilty pleasure. That being my transformation to rockstar once I hit the road. Singing in the car is three things for me: ridiculously fun, a great stress reliever (seriously, the deep breathing that takes place while singing helps ease anxiety) and über daggy. But who cares? That guy staring at me while pulled up next to my car at a red light will never see me again in approximately 1 or 2 turns time.

So the next time Mr Big’s To Be With You or Bonnie Tyler’s Total Eclipse Of The Heart comes on the radio, belt it out! My current favourite that I’m not always quick to admit to is Earthquake by Labrinth featuring Tinie Tempah. When else am I going to be able to utter the phrase ‘this one’s feeling like a straight 10 on the Richter scale yo” with such conviction? Jury’s still out on whether this is a guilty pleasure or an embarrassing one… in which case I should not have just told you all how much I enjoy it.

3. favourite viewing pleasure.

I’m sure most of you are expecting me to start talking sci-fi again but I in no way feel guilty about the time I have surrendered to adventures through the Stargate. I do however feel twinges of guilt whenever I sit down to marathon Keeping up with the Kardashians viewings or Jersey/Geordie Shore episodes. Teen Mom, Toddlers & Tiaras, Four Weddings… the list of trash tv I could watch for hours on end is well, just as endless as the hours I would dedicate to them.

I feel mid-trash-marathon guilt for so many reasons. Mainly because time in front of the tv could be better spent doing more productive things such as getting some vitamin d by venturing outside to take the dogs for a walk. But still, every now and then, I cosy up with remote in one hand and a cup of tea/coffee in the other and settle in for the long haul. Sometimes, watching ‘reality’ tv is a relaxing escape from the actual reality of the numerous chores/errands I have to do. It’s not so terrible, as long as you know that if you start to emotionally eat during Kim Kardashian and Kris Humphries’ break up, it’s probably time to turn the tv off!

The main reason I chose to share a few things that make me happy is so I can advocate for all to embrace their own guilty pleasures… although my little angel did ask me to add ‘within moderation’. After all, if it makes you smile, it can’t possibly be that bad!

6 thoughts on “my top 3 guilty pleasures.

  1. I totally agree with guilty pleasure #1! But in no way do I feel guilty about it, I will shout it from the roof top that chocolate and peanut butter are the perfect combination…just like cheese and dinner! More so than Brad and Angelina, but that is a whole new story which Frannie knows I feel strongly about.

    P.S I’m a Jennifer fan from way back.

    • Team Jen!? Tsk Tsk Caraaa 🙂 I’m glad we agree on Reese’s though. That could’ve been a deal breaker haha. Xoxo.

  2. Reese’s peanut butter cups are the best thing ever. My friend has a recipie for a slice that tastes just like them. It’s insane. I also do two and three a lot. I can sing Taylor Swift in the car like a champion!

  3. Pingback: the whole point of a wedding.. | frannie loves marie.

  4. Pingback: vanderpump rules my tuesday nights. | frannie loves marie.

Leave a Reply

