recommended reading: Rob Lowe’s autobiography

Brisbane in May is lovely. There is an abundance of blue-skied days, the sun still shines down graciously and the mornings and evenings have that pre-winter crispness to them. I am normally my happiest in the summertime but there is something romantic about the chillier months and there is certainly nothing more relaxing than curling up on a sun lounge or an arm-chair with a cuppa and a good book.

If you, like me, love browsing through bookstores, always have an ear out for rave recommendations and perhaps enjoy a good autobiography, then I have the perfect book for you. Last year, a dear, childhood friend of mine had a status on Facebook urging friends to read Stories I Only Tell My Friends by actor Rob Lowe (buy it online here). Not having any particular affinity to his body of work (which I didn’t even realise was so vast until I read his book) or to the Brat Pack, I was going purely off the good word of someone I trusted… and I’m so glad I did!

Without getting all ‘Grade 12 book report’ on you, a New York Times bestseller and the topic of one of Oprah’s shows in April of 2011, this book is insightful, funny and incredibly honest. Lowe shares stories from his childhood as well as tales of breaking into the business and befriending some of Hollywood’s most famous – I particularly enjoyed his recounts of time on set with Patrick Swayze, who I adore. He opens up about battling addiction, the scandals that rocked his life and career and about finding love and raising a family. Clearly much more than just a pretty face, if I didn’t feel any particular fondness for Rob Lowe prior to reading this book, I certainly do now. A sharp shooting, cleverly constructed page turner that Lowe wrote every word of, I just couldn’t put it down. Stories I Only Tell My Friends is a heart warming must read this winter.

If you’re still not convinced, read an excerpt from the book on Oprah’s website here.

2 thoughts on “recommended reading: Rob Lowe’s autobiography

Leave a Reply

