how to: make paper flowers for your home.

Maybe I’m prematurely slipping into middle age, but recently I’ve found I adore shopping for homewares more than clothes… a big statement to make for someone as obsessed with clothing as me, I know. But there’s something about planning a project for around the house and seeing it all come together that is just so rewarding. The shopping high with homewares has a longer afterglow than it does with clothing. Plus I feel less guilt – I really don’t need another dress, but I definitely needed that antique display cabinet to house all my lovely china.

So when my dear friend Freja gifted me with a glass bottle full of paper flowers, they took prize position on top of said display cabinet – if we had a pool room they would have gone straight there. Freja was even gracious enough to show me how to make them, because I thought they might be a nice addition to my wedding decor. Here’s a quick and very easy guide.

Each flower is made of a piece of paper cut out as above. Each little part makes a single petal so you can make them as fat or skinny and long or short as you like. You can also make one and use it as a template to trace and cut out all the rest of your petals.

We sourced the paper from this amazing little poetry book found at a local op shop. Old books are great and I think children’s picture books would be a really sweet idea too.

The paper in this particular book actually tore a little too easily because it was so old, so preferably choose a book with pages in better condition than this. It did the job though!

You’ll also need some wire which you can just grab from Bunnings or any kind of craft or gardening shop. We may or may not have dug this out of the garden shed.

Now for the fun part – fold your petals over onto one another until you get a little bunch. It doesn’t matter which way you fold and mixing it up adds a bit of variety.

The photo above shows what your flower should be looking like by now. Also, how pretty is Freja’s ring. Want.

In the bunch of paper flowers Freja gave me, she had used little cotton tips as the little capsules you would see in flowers like hibiscus, orchids and lilies. (I had to look up what these things are called, apparently this is the correct botany term – now don’t say the blog hasn’t taught you anything)

We used masking tape to hold the flower all together and then pushed out the petals so the flower sat open and pretty.

Now just twist the wire around the base of the flower (you can cut the wire to various lengths depending on how high you want the stems to sit and how tall the bottle you use is).

Ta da! Here’s one we prepared earlier. Op shops are the best places to source not only the paper, but also cute old bottles and jars you can use to put the flowers in. Now, amber glass like the little bottle above is starting to get expensive because I guess people are cottoning on to how amazing it looks, but you can still find some bargains at outer suburb op shops in places like Capalaba and Cleveland.

Leave a Reply

