how to: the ballerina bun.

I cannot tell a lie, I have been known amongst family and friends for taking a painfully long time to get ready before going out, often professing that I have absolutely no clothes while looking directly at the piles of colourful fabric bursting from my wardrobe. To avoid the rolling of eyes that usually follows, I have become quite masterful at finding little tricks to make getting ready as quick as possible. One of my favourites is this little bun sock or ‘donut’ that is perfect for creating a quick and easy bun.

I am surprised by the number of people who ask ‘how do you get your bun that way?’ and am always more than happy to introduce them to this brilliant must have accessory for those with medium to long hair. It’s cheap too at roughly $10 – $15 depending on where you purchase it from. I bought mine from Starkles at Westfield Carindale about 6 months ago and most hairdressers would sell them too. As the name would suggest, you can also just use a sock by cutting the toe off making a tube and rolling into shape as per below.

First step is to pop your hair in a ponytail. I normally do a slick, high pony but you can do it any way to achieve the look you’re after. You can even do pigtails for the ultimate Princess Leia look! Then you loop the pony through the middle of the sock. Like so…

Once you’ve done this, there are a couple of different techniques for how you can finish off the bun. If you can manage, you can achieve a really neat look by pulling the sock to the end of the tail and then rolling inwards towards your hairband. For my hair at its length and volume, I simply wrap the pony around the sock and pin loose bits of hair under with bobby pins. I flip the pony upwards…

And then pin the first piece of hair here before wrapping the rest of the tail around…

The best thing about this accessory is that it comes in colours to match most shades of hair so if a little bit shows through it doesn’t really matter. Keep wrapping, pinning and tucking until the entire sock is covered…

If you are going for a sleek finish, make sure all loose ends of hair are tucked under the sock and pins are well hidden. Then finish with a spritz of hairspray to keep everything in place. If you have really fine or slippery hair that you find bobby pins tend to slide out of easily, then try spraying the pins with hairspray before popping them in as this will make them sticky and help to hold them in place.

This took me a total of 10 minutes to style, including stopping to take photos. I’m certainly no expert, but something that quick and easy should be a must for anyone who loves a good updo! This accessory is so handy in fact, that my older sister actually trusted me to style her hair on her wedding day using it, although we went for a more textured, low bun.

4 thoughts on “how to: the ballerina bun.

  1. I am in shock over Frannie cutting up a pink polka dot sock!!!

    Great step by step instructions my love. For those like me who have hair thicker than spaghetti sometimes the sock can make the bun too big and heavy. I twist my locks while wrappying it in a circular motion, and bobby pinning it all in place (no hair tie needed). It takes a bit of practice, but you will be able to achieve the same look as Frannie has shown above.

    • Haha CJ! I have always been envious of your amazing, thick hair! Let’s try one of those huge bun socks in your hair in a high pony one day and see what it looks like 🙂

  2. Pingback: daily outfit: I can’t keep a secret. | frannie loves marie.

Leave a Reply

